Archive | 9:47 am

There’s No Time Like Downtime

8 Nov

With class, blogging, sorority duties (how sorority girl of me..), a part-time job, and writing for a magazine it’s a wonder I have time to actually breathe. Insert panic attack now. Wishing that Thanksgiving will get here asap just isn’t doing it for me anymore. Thanksgiving doesn’t just mean loads of artery-clogging food, oh no, it also most definitely brings on 3 projects, 5 papers, and one huge exam. I literally just counted all those on my fingers to make sure I didn’t forget one. AWESOME. So while my siblings are watching the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade, I will be silently sobbing while single handedly eating an entire pumpkin pie. I’m a stress eater.

I have come to realize that in order to be relavively sane while juggling your whole life, you have to make room for downtime every single day. It can be 30 minutes or 3 hours. Fit it in.

Currently some of my favorite ways to be lazy are…

  • Catching up on my weekly TV shows. Lately I am loving The Vampire Diaries, Glee, Gossip Girl, American Horror Story, 30 Rock, and The Walking Dead. It’s quite the hodgepodge. My shows have a nice mix of sexy, comedy, singing, slushies, and zombies.  Nothing like watching people getting eaten by zombies to remind you that somebody has it worse off.

I spared you a zombie picture. Plus Blair is much too pretty to not post.

Source

  • StumbleUpon. I literally could stumble for hours. This website has everything from unique weddings to lolcats. Yes please. And for all you iPhone users, there is an app for that, and it makes stumbling in class so much easier.

Cute idea!

Source

  • Gossip. I am a girl, we sometimes always thrive off this stuff. Websites such as Perez Hilton and POPSUGAR have helped me cope with my crazy workload by giving me daily doses of celebrity shenanigans.

Perfect timing.

Source

For another way to destress make sure to check out VIM Magazine next week! The fall issue will launch November 18th!
What are some of your favorite ways to relax?
-Nicole