Sweet Nothings

22 Jun

Remember when you were little and a boy would profess his love for you by throwing rocks at your head/pulling your hair? Never happened to me, I was the chubby kid.

I think I love you

Well that happened to me in Barcelona, except swap out throwing rocks for insults. Everyday when we woke up I put on my suit, put on deodorant took a shower, and walked to the beach sans makeup. I don’t believe in putting on a face when it’s just going to sweat off the minute I walk outside. Anyway we would eat at the same beach side cafe everyday, and it just so happened that we would get the same waiter everyday (we will call him Javier). He never failed to throw some half joke/half insult at me.

  • “Wow you are tall. How tall? wowwwwwww.”
  • “Why are your lips so shiny? Your friends lips aren’t shiny” (lip balm okayy?)
  • “Your lips are weird to me” (I apologize for my shiny lips..drop it)
Then..on the last day Javier told me that I couldn’t come to the cafe anymore because he was falling in love with me (so out of nowhere). Let me repeat..that
a. I had never actually showered before coming to the beach
b. I am sure my deodorant wore off by the time I moved my lazy butt to eat
c. I was the color of a lobster..so crispy
d. I had 0 makeup
e. I rarely smiled…in fear it would bring attention to my “shiny” lips
I took his random confession of undying love as a joke; so I just smiled and headed back to the hotel. Later the rest of the group came back laughing hysterically with a “gift”. Apparently Javier wrote me a love letter as a farewell. It read..and this is word for word.
“Nicole,
Let me start by saying, that I LOVE you and your shiny lips. (uhm okay) I can make you so much happier than Max. (that’s a little creepy) I look forward to hearing from you!
Mobile: +2049852-09
Email: javier@hotsforyou.omgwhat?
Always,
Javier”

Who wouldn't fall in love with this face?

So that is my love story, Barcelona is oh so magical. Max, Javier has nothing on you!!

Tonight I am getting my last fish and chips in Dublin, nothing compares!!

-giraffelegs

How has someone professed their love for you? Keep it PG! 

6 Responses to “Sweet Nothings”

  1. Lois June 22, 2011 at 12:21 pm #

    HAHAHAHAH
    oh nik. i love this.

  2. Chandler June 22, 2011 at 4:42 pm #

    Last Halloween I went to a family friend’s halloween party with one of my long time friends who’s a sophomore in high school. There I met some of her other sophomore friends. They all seemed to like me, I don’t know why, I was being pretty annoying I thought, and they were all surprised when I told them I was a senior. (I digress) So later on of the kids chats with me on facebook and in the middle of a so-so conversation he asks if he could say something and this is what he said word for word:

    “you have really beautiful eyes. when i gave you you apple cider i saw them and i just thought about when i used to go down to alabama and every night i would watch the sun come down and at 8 16 for a minute the sun light would reflect against the water a amazing blue.you eyes looked just like that”

    We haven’t talked to each other since that conversation, but it was very sweet.

    • giraffelegs June 22, 2011 at 8:41 pm #

      Chandles, I literally just laughed out loud!!! hahahahahaahahha!! he sounds very sweet and original. girlfran you just wait until you get to state!!
      you are coming out with me!

  3. Uncle Dave June 22, 2011 at 8:28 pm #

    I once stood outside my girlfriends window late at night and held a boom box above my head as Peter Gabriel’s song “In your eyes” played! Oh wait, that was in a movie. Sorry.

    • giraffelegs June 22, 2011 at 8:41 pm #

      that’s happened to me 3 times..uhh it’s so hard to be pretty

Leave a Reply

