So Your A Freshman, It Happens

31 Aug

We’ve all experienced it. Being a freshman is comparable to having braces, bifocals and breathing through your  mouth. It’s a part of college, and it happens it whether you want to or not. We have all walked around with a map held up to our faces while wearing our ID’s around our necks.

Of course I was one of these freshmen, only less cool. Example: I thought it would be cute to document my “night out” dressing up and staying in the dorms by taking a picture…alone..while wearing this outfit. I’m so fetch. It’s a miracle I made any friends.

Hi Freshmen Fifteen...don't visit ever again please.

Here are some of my less than stellar freshtastic moments.

  1. I was sitting in the front of my first 300+ lecture, yes the front, I was clearly just so ecstatic to learn. Not only was this my first big class, but my first class in college period. The professor introduced the class, discussed office hours, rambled on for about 15 minutes and then remembered to state what section we were in. I was in the right class, wrong section and therefore wrong room. I literally sprinted out of the room to avoid the embarrassing stares. In retrospect, I’m sure the sprinting drew in more stares than a casual walk of shame.
  2. The day after my wrong room mishap, I attempted to start fresh while making a new friend in my writing class. It was a small room and I sat next to the only girl who looked remotely normal. Then a series of word vomit spewed out of my mouth in an attempt to be friendly, “Hi, my name is Nicole. I’m a freshmen and live in Akers and this is my first writing class. Are you a freshmen? What’s your major? Where do you live?” My new best friend looked at me, picked up her backpack and sat on the other side of the room. I later learned that she was a senior, so I had very obviously offended her by equating her to such a lowly frosh status. FAIL.
  3. This is a good one. In an attempt to appear to be a more seasoned college student, I decided to try my hand at riding the bus second semester. 3 weeks into cramped and sweaty riding, I could not figure out why people opted to ride the bus so often. It took longer for me to get to where I wanted to go than if I had been walking. The problem? Instead of getting off at the station to switch buses, I would stay on one bus and literally ride the entire route. I didn’t realize that I could switch buses to get to where I needed to be faster. DUMB.
I would like to think that I know better now, but that is one bold statement.

Yup...bold statement.

Do you have any embarrassing freshmen moments? What were they?
-Nicole
4 Responses to “So Your A Freshman, It Happens”

  1. lapetitefashionista September 1, 2011 at 9:56 pm #

    I love this post haha! it’s good to be able to poke fun at our freshman year selves! love your blog, you’ve got such cute style!

  2. Evelyn Miska Krieger September 4, 2011 at 12:38 pm #

    Nicole…do me a favor and take a second, really careful, look at your headline…
    I couldn’t not say something, sorry!!!

    BTW, I really do get a kick out of reading your blog. You have a really good voice and your sense of humor comes through in your writing 🙂

    • giraffelegs September 4, 2011 at 12:44 pm #

      haha. It’s funny you mentioned this because today my mom said, “Nicole you really need to read over your posts before you update them.” I need to stop being so lazy.

      • Evelyn Miska Krieger September 4, 2011 at 6:06 pm #

        Well, I just know you know better being a smart as you are 😉

Leave a Reply

