Fashion Myths

6 Sep

With Labor Day behind us, I started thinking about putting my white skirts/dresses/shorts away and bringing in the oversized sweaters and riding boots. Then I remembered that I live in Michigan and I am guaranteed at least another 2 weeks of unbearable heat. Fashion is supposed to be about risk taking and pushing the boundaries. If that is true, why have we become tied down by age-old myths and boundaries. I chose to debunk some of these “rules” because a.) I break them on a seasonal basis and b.) They are outdated.

  1. No white after Labor Day. Don’t hide those white jeans/skirts in the back of your closet, simply pair them with an oversized sweater in an autumn color (deep red, cognac, olive) and throw on a pair of knee-high boots. If it is still scorching outside…just wear a tank top. Who cares.
Urban Outfitters Sparkle & Fade Cropped Pullover- $54

Steve Madden Caitylnn Cognac Leather Boot- $109.95

 Source

2. Do not mix gold and silver. Gold and silver looks great together, although I wouldn’t pair a metallic silver dress with a sequin clutch. Mix bracelets, rings and even necklaces if you want a bold statement.

ModCloth Mineral Deposit Necklace- $64.99

Source

      3. Do not wear black and brown together. I never understood this one. The important thing to remember about mixing black and brown is to make sure that the shades you select compliment each other instead of blending together. Don’t wear a deep, dark brown with a black dress/shirt, instead opt for a cognac color or a more textured brown to break the look up. This vest offers varying shades of brown along with texture that would look great paired with a black long sleeve and jeans or a tight LBD.

BB Dakota Janika Faux Fur Vest- $65

Source

   4. Tall girls (giraffelegs) shouldn’t wear heels. I grew up trying to hide my height by slouching, crouching, and of course ballet flats. It wasn’t until I went to college that I traded in my kitten heels for some sky-high pumps. Tall girls have to embrace their height instead of running from it.

Christian Louboutin Lady Daf Suede Platform Pumps- $995

Source

Drool.

What fashion myths have you debunked?

-Nicole

One Response to “Fashion Myths”

  1. Margo Halligan September 20, 2011 at 10:30 am #

    I have a cousin who is 5’11” and wears a minimum of 3″ heels. Embrace your height, for all of us who wish we had it!

Leave a Reply

