When Your Costume Sucks

29 Oct

Normally I am a planner. In high school I picked out my prom dress in February and presently I am super Type A when it comes to outfit choices for a big event. For some reason this year I just couldn’t get excited and plan my Halloween costume. It might be the fact that my costumes never really turn out how I envision them, or maybe it’s because last year East Lansing was crawling with people who didn’t even go there; but I just could not get in the festive spirit. This year I decided to head home with high hopes of real food, fun-sized candy, and really bad SyFy movies. However in the spirit of All Hallow’s Eve I decided that I had to go out and dress up for at least one night.

Due to my lack of usual OCD, my outfit was unoriginal and I looked more like a stripper than a classy college undergrad. Just call me Candy.

  • At first I came up with the brilliant idea of dressing as a Victoria’s Secret Angel. This plan ultimately failed when a.) I could not find huge feather wings. The bigger the better. b.) I realized this costume ultimately requires me to dress up in lingerie and c.) I have no business acting as if I am Rosie Huntington-Whiteley. Girl crush.

Sadly these wings were not available at Halloween USA. Weird right?

Source

  • In an attempt to appear less scantily clad, and after huge wing hunting was a bust I decided the next best route was to dress up as a stupid fairy. I feel that dressing as a fairy, indian, devil, cat, and Lady Gaga are completely overdone. I usually love to be original, see Katy Perry, and was disappointed that I resorted to throwing on a leotard, tutu and wings to be a skanky pixie. It happens.

Thank god this picture is grainy, because the only redeeming part of this outfit is the feather eyelashes.

  • So after two trips to Halloween USA, I say two trips because the first time around I bought a toddler’s tutu on accident, I made it back to my house with 1 white adult tutu, 1 pair of false eyelashes, and zero dignity. I threw on my american apparel leotard only to realize that the tutu failed to fully cover up my butt and then was forced to hastily borrow a pair of hot pink spandex shorts. Then after realizing I couldn’t remember the last time I washed my hair, I dry shampooed like I never have before and rolled in some hot curlers. PLEASE TAKE THE GREASE OUT. To finish off the look I borrowed some fairy wings, sprayed my hair pink and then hoped that I didn’t look too desperate. I definitely did. My friends were far more elaborate and original with their costume ideas. One day I hope to not suck as much.

From left to right: Halloween Spirit, Cotton Candy, Skeleton, Dorothy, Flamingo, Painfully Generic Fairy

  •  The whole Scooby Doo crew also made an appearance, however I didn’t post any pictures because I don’t really know them and that would be weird.
What is your favorite Halloween costume? Do you like to be original?
-Nicole

6 Responses to “When Your Costume Sucks”

  1. College Girl Meets World October 29, 2011 at 2:02 pm #

    Seriously loved the pink eyelashes lady

  2. kelcgoestospain October 29, 2011 at 2:46 pm #

    you look hot… and totally okay the same thing happened to me.. all of my costumes failed so im a generic devil.. we are fail twinsiesss

  3. alyssa October 29, 2011 at 5:33 pm #

    you don’t suck – you look great!
    i went with the “overdone” lady gaga route, but i couldn’t help myself.

    hope you have a great weekend!

    • giraffelegs October 29, 2011 at 11:01 pm #

      haha thanks. a.) Your Gaga costume was flawless and b.) your pictures are beautiful! You are a really talented photographer.

  4. Fashion Cappuccino (@fashicappuccino) October 31, 2011 at 3:43 am #

    What are you talking about? Your costume was rad and you look very pretty! I’m too lazy to put on a costume so I just dress up more than usual like with heels and a fancy dress. That’s about it. Boring, I know.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cozy In Corduroy « giraffelegs - November 6, 2011

    […] have the same ring. Anyway, as I was contemplating dropping out of school and changing my name to Candy, I realized that I had less than ten minutes to get ready and look semi-functional for work. I ran […]

Leave a Reply

